WLFD Writing: My First Beta Reader Job

As you all may not know, I am an avid reader as well as a writer. A few days ago, I volunteered to be a beta reader for the the first time.

At first, let’s rewind a few days before this happened. I had no idea what a beta reader actually was. After researching into how I could broaden my scope as a future writer *fingers crossed*, I ran across a few articles on how important beta readers were.

What they do is basically, before sending to an editor, which can be extremely costly, an author will hire, or ask for volunteers, for their works of literature. We beta readers do a once over read, giving critique and feedback. This definitely sounds like the job for me.

The hardest part about this is that I have a hard time being…mean? There are errors, and being a beta reader means I will get the first wave of them, but learning how to approach the topic with the customer/author is a different story.

An air of professionalism is needed, that is certain, but this individual is my peer, my colleague in the writing world. We both wish for the same things, to be published and have our stories heard. That in and of itsefl is the reason I must give them the rawest review I possibly can. From that they will rise to be great!

I’m SO excited!

With Love, From Daisy

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Kat says:

    I’ve been beta-reading for a while, but only recently have I started a service for it — and like you I have trouble, though with pointing out the good things. Of course there are good things, but I always get so caught up with focusing on the issues that I forget to balance it out! Still, it helps me practice and learn with how to fix that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Daisy says:

      Absolutely! It’s easy to get tunnel vision when it comes to it! How’s your service going!? I’d love to pick your brain a bit 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Kat says:

        I’ve had 2 clients so far, so a small start, but one nonetheless! What questions do you have? I’ll try my best to help!

        Like

  2. Much appreciated =)

    Like

    1. Daisy says:

      My pleasure!

      Like

Leave a Reply

