You Can’t Be Clean With Dirty Habits

There are many of us, as human beings, that don’t quite have concerns about our daily habits. We are a carefree species who are more inclined to deal with our consequences than to avoid them all together.

As the title suggests, you can’t be clean with dirty habits.

This is a statement that should resonate within you from here on out. Every individual has one or more dirty little secrets that are hindering our wellbeing, be it mental, physical, or emotional. I, for instance, am a smoker. Up until today, I had sung the song of ‘I’ll quit when I’m ready’. Through an overheard conversation, it dawned on me: no matter how clean I think I am, my smoking will always be dirty.

I would never condemn smokers, but it made me really take a look at my life. How many more dirty habits did I have, ones that I have written off as character traits or just part of my general charm?

This is meant to get you thinking. Is there anything in your life that could possibly be hindering you from being true to yourself? Are you someone who:

  • keeps a filthy room, but showers constantly and keeps up your appearance?
  • bad mouths others, but is very sensitive when it comes to criticism?
  • turns in homework late or not at all, but constantly complain about bad grades?

None of this is meant to call anyone out, but I firmly believe that the hardest critic you will ever encounter should always be yourself. Only you know truly what you are doing, can do, and will do. It is not something you can come to learn to do in a night, but rather something that you develop over time.

There is a certain quality I admire in people, and that is one of ownership. Not their assets or the like, but the fact that they have accepted who they are as individuals and do not hide behind your typical “I’ll change for you” or “Just say the word and I’ll stop”. If you are a person who is always late, constantly preoccupied, then don’t rely on intentions.

I recently had this conversation with my boyfriend. Never rely on “I had every intention” statements when you did/do nothing in order to fulfill those intentions. A person can have every intention on studying, but unless they take the time out of their schedules and open a book/read notes, you have only lied to yourself.

So, if you take nothing from this post, take this: you will only be as clean as your dirtiest habit. I will only be as clean as the cigarettes I smoke. I’ll provide some homework to get you started. Write down three things you know that are considered dirty. Identify them and separate them from general character traits. These will be things you have complete control over, as well as being able to alleviate their impact by being cleaner in other areas.

There is no such thing as perfect, and everyone has their dirt, but always ask yourself if you could only be remembered by the bad that you do, how bad would it be?

With Love, From Daisy

 

 

Ian Espinosa

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jess says:

    Fab post Daisy! It definitely makes you think as I can certainly name a few bait habits I do (that some don’t even know about!). Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Daisy says:

      Thanks so much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

